I always write out the nametags for my Lapsits. It helps me to fix the child’s face with his or her name (believe me, I need all the help I can get) and it’s a moment of personal time. It’ straightforward, only problem is usually when I can’t hear the child’s mumble and look to the adult for clarification.

Yesterday, one of my favorites, a very quiet blond came up. I had spotted him, and had his nametag all ready to go. He looked straight at me, and said, “I’m Dinosaur.” So I wrote ‘Dinosaur’ above his name.

We should have done Laurie Berkner’s Dinosaur March in his honor, but I didn’t have it with me.

And last week I had a little boy come in. I knew him, but couldn’t place his name. So I asked, “What’s your name?” , and he answered with a straight face and a sly look, “Mr. Smith.”

